Ramnath Goenka Award for Excellence in Journalism

Named after media baron and founder of the Express group, this award is one of the most prestigious awards for Indian journalists and recognises print and TV reporters every year.


Press Council of India Awards

Every year the PCI recognises print journalists by giving the following awards:

Ø  Raja Ramouhan Roy National Award for Excellence in Journalism

Ø  Rural Journalism Award

Ø  Development Reporting Award

Ø  Stree Shakti Puruskar

Ø  Photo Journalism Award –

i)                    Single News Picture

ii)                   Photo Feature

Ø  Urdu Journalism


Sports Journalists Federation India Award

It recognises excellence in sports journalism in English and other Indian languages and covers print, web and TV media.


Sanskriti Journalism Award

This is intended for journalists who have made significant contributions in English and any Indian language, towards any branch of journalism.


Chameli Devi Award

Given in the memory of Chameli Devi Jain, this award recognises outsanding reportage by women in Media every year.


C.H Mohammad Koya National Journalism Award

Named after the 10th Chief Minister of Kerala, this award honours media practioners in print and visual medium.


Shriram Sanlam Award for Excellence in Financial Journalism

Instituted by Shriram Capital Limited in association with IFMR, Chennai in 2012 to promote excellence in Indian/International newspapers, magazines and online journalism.


Mumbai Press Club Red ink Awards

The awards recognise and promote quality writing, fair play and high ethical standards.


Young Environmental Journalism Awards

Sponsored by CMS, New Delhi, for excellence in environmental journalism in print and online media.


Citi Journalistic Excellence Award 
Recognizes outstanding financial and business reporting across many of the countries Citi operates in.


South Asian Journalists Association Awards

Sponsored by SAJA, these include more than 11 categories including Daniel Pearl Award for Outstanding Reporting in South Asia.



International Awards


Ramon Magsaysay Award

Named after former Philippine’s president, Asia’s premier prize and highest honour, celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia.


Knight International Journalism Award

Sponsored by Knight International Journalism Fellowships recognises media professionals who demonstrate a passionate commitment to excellent reporting that makes a difference in the lives of people around the world.


News Innovation Award

The ICFJ News Innovation Award recognizes pioneering work that promotes the free flow of news and the open exchange of ideas.


ICFJ Founders Award for Excellence in Journalism

The ICFJ Founders Award is presented to a journalist with a long-time commitment to the highest standards of the profession.


Courage in Journalism Awards

Organized by the International Women's Media Foundation, it honours women journalists who face danger to uncover the truth and raise the bar for reporting under duress.


Karpoor Chandra Kulish International Award for Excellence in Print Journalism

It recognises outstanding reporting by teams from daily newspapers working to uncover wrongdoing and promote a better quality of life.


Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism

It is given for reporting on conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions, and other key issues. There are two awards- one for a freelancer covering international news, the other to a reporter living and working in the developing world.


The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

It is organized by the European Commission and is open to professional journalists working for all different media types.


Global Shining Light Award

Given by CIJN at the Global Investigative Journalism Conference, the award honours investigative journalism in a developing country, done under threat, or in the direst of conditions.


Data Journalism Award

Sponsored Global Editors Network, it is given for stories that have an impact at a societal level across multiple categories, including data-driven investigations.


UNESCO World Press Freedom Award

Created in 1997, it honours a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, and especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.


Robert Capa Gold Medal

It is awarded annually by the Overseas Press Club of America (OPC) for the"best published photographic reporting from abroad requiring exceptional courage and enterprise".


World Association of Newspapers' Golden Pen of Freedom Award

The Golden Pen of Freedom is an annual award made by WAN-IFRA to recognise the outstanding action, in writing or deed, of an individual, a group or an institution in the cause of press freedom.


Online Journalism Awards

Administered by Online News Association in partnership with University of Miami, it honours excellence in digital journalism around the world.




Collection of watchdog reporting from India



CIJ is dedicated to ensure all content we publish is accurate. If you find any inaccuracies let us know.



CIJ welcomes articles, letters and comments from readers. Please write to


Your contribution to CIJ will help the cause of watchdog journalism in India.

Copyright © 2014. The Centre for Investigative Journalism, India. All Rights Reserved.

Designed & Developed By: ibex Solutions